I was told by a MobileMe rep that I should restore my iPhone from a Backup. When I connect the iPhone to iTunes (not set to automatically back up when connected!) and press Restore, I get the following message:
“Do you want to back up the settings for the iPhone before restoring the software? [2 options]: “Back Up or Don’t Backup”
No matter which of the two I click on, I get to the next message:
“Are you sure you want to restore the iPhone to its factory settings? All of your media and other data will be erased, and the newest version of the iPhone software will be installed.”
Actually I do NOT want to restore to factory settings, but to yesterday’s backup. Where and how to I get to this option?
I once did a restore to factory settings and it was quite a lot of work to get my iPhone back to the way it used to be (among others, a need to rearrange all apps into pages and folders, add friends’ phone number etc.) Any advice would be appreciated.
What’s the Difference between “Restore iPhone from backup” & “Restore iPhone to Factory Settings”?
Yeah, firstly, we should make the concept of iPhone restore clear:
* Restore iPhone from backup: You have a backup created by iTunes, and depends on different computer OS, it will give different location for the backup, details are as follows:
Windows XP and the former
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup\
Then in the future, when you lost data on iPhone and want to restore the data to your iPhone, it is called “Restore iPhone from backup”.
Note: The backup in the above location are all SQLITE_DB files, you cannot view them directly until freeing them.
* Restore iPhone to factory settings: This is also called a full restore. When you do this, your iPhone will be set as a brand new one. And as the name tells you, you are turning the iPhone to the state when it was in factory. All your previous app settings, personal data such as contacts, photos, text messages, notes, safari bookmarks and so on are all erased by the factory reset. So before your iPhone factory reset, you need to think twice. Even you have to do iPhone factory reset, you are advised to backup your iPhone data with iTunes. After the factory default condition is done, you can restore your iPhone from the backup, in the below, I will tell you how to.
Note: What if you have done iPhone default condition but didn’t backup your iPhone? Is it still possible to restore erased data after the iPhone factory reset? Yes, there is another tool – iPhone data recovery allows you to restore iPhone without backup even after you factory reset your iPhone, jailbreak your iPhone or update your iPhone. You can get detailed information about how to set iPhone 5 into factory settings from the link.
How to Restore iPhone from iTunes Backup?
There are two cases: You lost your iPhone and only have iTunes backup; Your iPhone is available in hand.
In the first case, you cannot restore the data in iTunes free. What you need is a third party utility – iTunes backup extractor. It is a professional tool used to extract iTunes backup to your computer and then you can view the data on your computer directly. This iTunes backup extractor is able to unpack the inaccessible files to directly accessible files. Plus, the data are saved on your computer safely forever.
You can get the detailed operation on
In the second case, you can restore your iPhone data with iTunes free:
- Open iTunes and right click on your phone’s name.
2.Select “Restore from Backup”. If you don’t have an iTunes backup, iTunes will not offer this option.
3.Use the drop-down menu to select a backup then click “Restore”.
4. Wait till the backup is restored. It depends how many files you have restored. So please wait patiently.
5. Click “OK”.
6. Wait while the Apple iPhone 5 is synced.
7. When the restoration is done, you can disconnect your iPhone from the computer.